skip navigation
Home News NLL Teams Scores Players Schedule Standings Stats Video Tickets Shops Fantasy Multimedia About NLL Search Results

Calgary's Snider among elite company in NLL record book

06/05/2013, 1:15pm EDT
By NLL.com

Roughnecks transition star top five all-time in several statistical categories

Calgary Roughnecks transition player Geoff Snider led the NLL in several statistical categories and now ranks among the league's all-time career leaders in loose balls, faceoffs won and penalty minutes in seven pro seasons. (Photo: Brad Watson)

Calgary Roughnecks transition player Geoff Snider asserted himself as one of the dominant forces in the National Lacrosse League again in 2013 by leading the NLL in loose balls, faceoffs won and penalty minutes while scoring 17 goals. Snider, who boasts a rare combination of size, skill and speed along with an unrivaled intensity on the field, now ranks among some elite company in the league's record book for single-season and career statistics.

Snider recovered 235 loose balls this year, 38 more than the next best player and third-most in NLL single-season history, and now owns the loose ball record (245) and the top four totals. Currently ranked fifth all-time in loose balls, the seven-year veteran is poised to pass Steve Toll and Pat McCready next year to move into the third spot.

NLL All-Time Loose Ball Leaders
1) Jim Veltman 2417
2) John Tavares 2091
3) Pat McCready 1593
4) Steve Toll 1562
5) Geoff Snider 1527
6) Brodie Merrill 1494
7) Cam Woods 1352
8) Mark Steenhuis 1299
9) Phil Sanderson 1266
10) Gary Gait 1171

The faceoff specialist won 310 draws this past season, which were 48 more than his brother Bob Snider who was the runner-up. Winning 75.8% of 409 faceoffs taken, Snider's 310 wins were the second-most in his career (318) and fourth-most in NLL history. The fourth-overall pick in the 2006 NLL Entry Draft out of Denver University now needs just 196 faceoff wins to become the league's all-time career leader.

NLL All-Time Faceoffs Won Leaders
1) Jamie Hanford 2091
2) Geoff Snider 1895
3) Peter Jacobs 1774
4) Stephen Hoar 1520
5) Pat Jones 1247
6) Rodney Tapp 1118
7) Paul Cantabene 982
8) Cory Bomberry 917
9) Gordon Purdie 862
10) Peter Lough 846

One of the fiercest competitors in the game, the Calgary, Alberta native recorded a league-high 69 penalty minutes in 2013 and now ranks second all-time in league history.

NLL All-Time Penalty Minutes Leaders
1) Kyle Laverty 625
2) Geoff Snider 495
3) Pat McCready 468
4) Billy Dee Smith 466
5) Patrick Merrill 452
6) Dan Ladouceur 428
7) Eric Martin 418
8) Cam Woods 410
9) Scott Evans 397
10) Tom Hajek 392

* Active players in italics

Recent News

Popular Articles

Teams announce rosters for 2015

12/18/2014, 1:00pm EST
By NLL.com

Find out which players made the final cut following league's roster deadline

Watch NE at TOR (7pm ET) & EDM at CGY (9pm ET) live on NLL.com

Knighthawks sign Wilson

12/17/2014, 10:00am EST
By NLL.com

12-year NLL veteran forward returns to Rochester after release from Buffalo

Tag(s): Home  Calgary Roughnecks