skip navigation
Home News NLL Teams Scores Players Schedule Standings Stats Video Tickets Shops Fantasy Multimedia About NLL Search Results

Adam Jones wins Rookie of the Year Award, presented by Thunder Tribe

05/04/2012, 6:46am EDT
By NLL.com

Jones' 76 points played key role in Mammoth turnaround season

Adam Jones wins the 2012 Rookie of the Year Award. Photo Credit: Michael Martin

The National Lacrosse League has announced that Colorado Mammoth forward Adam Jones has won the league’s Rookie of the Year Award, presented by Thunder Tribe Energy Shot, for the 2012 season.  

The third overall selection in the 2011 NLL Entry Draft from Canisius, Jones led all rookies with 76 points on 29 goals and 47 assists. His 29 goals broke the Mammoth franchise’s single-season rookie record set by Brian Langtry in 2003.  

After debuting with a hat trick and six points in a win over Minnesota on Jan. 14, Jones scored a career-high five times to help Colorado beat Edmonton six days later. He was named Rookie of the Week three times and Rookie of the Month in January and March.

“It’s a great accomplishment,” said Jones. “Everyone worked hard all year. To me, it’s more of a team award. Hopefully we can finish it off with the Champion’s Cup.”

Jones’ honor came after teammate John Grant Jr. was named the NLL’s Most Valuable Player on Thursday. It marked the second straight season in which teammates swept the two awards. Calgary’s Jeff Shattler was the 2011 MVP while Curtis Dickson was the top rookie.

“Throughout the season, John and Adam have been an integral part of our success on the offensive end,” Hamley said after Grant and Jones were named the league’s top player and rookie, respectively, in March.

The Mammoth was the league’s most improved team this season record-wise, improving their win total by six games. After a 5-11 record in 2011, the Mammoth went 11-5 this season, good for second place in the Western Division. Colorado hosts a Western Division Semifinal matchup Saturday night against the Minnesota Swarm that airs live on CBS Sports Network.

Philadelphia’s Kevin Crowley finished second and Minnesota’s Jordan MacIntosh third in the Rookie of the Year voting.

Crowley, the top overall pick last September from Stony Brook, was the rookie leader with 36 goals and finished with 71 points and 81 loose balls to help the Wings reach the playoffs for the first time since 2008.  He was named Rookie of the Week three times.

MacIntosh, taken fourth overall from RIT, led the Swarm’s rookies in scoring with 51 points (23 goals, 28 assists) and was fifth in the NLL with 153 loose balls, also a Minnesota team record, and fourth with 151 face-off wins. He was named the league’s rookie of the week once and the Transition Player of the Week twice. He was also named Rookie of the Month for March.

The announcements of 2012 NLL Season Awards continues Monday with the Sportsmanship Award.

Recent News

Popular Articles

Watch NE at TOR (7pm ET) & EDM at CGY (9pm ET) live on NLL.com

Teams announce rosters for 2015

12/18/2014, 1:00pm EST
By NLL.com

Find out which players made the final cut following league's roster deadline

Edmonton roughs up Calgary on the road with decisive exhibition victory

Tag(s): Home