skip navigation
Home News NLL Teams Scores Players Schedule Standings Stats Video Tickets Shops Fantasy Multimedia About NLL Search Results

Minnesota Swarm's Andy Arlotta wins Executive of the Year Award

06/05/2012, 11:43am EDT
By NLL.com

Swarm Co-owner & VP led team to business success that matched team's on-field performance

Andy Arlotta (left) welcomed transition player Jordan MacIntosh to the Swarm at the 2011 Entry Draft. Photo Credit: Graig Abel

The National Lacrosse League has announced that Andy Arlotta has won the league’s Executive of the Year Award for the 2012 season.  Arlotta, the Co-owner, Vice President &  Alternate Governor of the Minnesota Swarm, led the franchise to gains on the business side that were equally as impressive as what the Swarm accomplished on the field in 2012.  The Executive of the Year Award is voted on by the league’s Board of Governors.

Under Andy Arlotta’s leadership of the team’s day-to-day business operations, the Swarm increased its average home attendance to 8,595 fans per game at Xcel Energy Center. This marked an increase of nearly four percent over the 2011 season, the second highest percentage growth among teams for 2012. The team’s ticket & sponsorship revenues both grew in 2012. The team also had its best local television presence in franchise history with all of its home regular season games and all playoff games televised on KSTC-TV 45 & CBS Sports Network. 

On the field, the team turned in its best season in franchise history, advancing to the Division Finals round of the playoffs for the first time while fielding the youngest team in the league and having the league’s lowest player payroll.

“Andy has demonstrated the ability to develop and maintain corporate partnerships on a level that is as high as any team in the league”, said NLL Commissioner George Daniel. “We congratulate Andy and the Swarm organization on this well-deserved award.”  The team’s corporate partners include Toyota, Coors Light, Treasure Island Resort & Casino and United Hospitals.    

“I’m truly honored to receive this award from the league,” said Arlotta, who completed his fourth year with the Swarm in 2012. “The Swarm organization prides itself in being active in the community, and I’d like to thank everyone in the front office for their efforts and doing their part in helping the Swarm receive this prestigious award.”

The Swarm also made impressive gains in the community and beyond.  This past summer due to Arlotta’s efforts, the Minnesota Swarm was recognized at the White House during First Lady Michelle Obama's Let's Move! In Indian Country initiative. Recently in December, Arlotta was named the recipient of the Spirit of the People Award, which is presented to one individual annually by the Minnesota American Indian Chamber of Commerce (MAICC).

Arlotta continues to lead the Swarm’s year-round lacrosse program on the Prairie Island Indian Community and the Lax-4-Life Camp in the summer, which is held for boys and girls from all 11 reservations across Minnesota. Campers not only learn about the history, tradition and game play of lacrosse, but also life skills, such as the importance of education, healthy living and abstinence from drugs, alcohol and violence.

Under Andy’s leadership, the Swarm was named the winner of the 2011 Deubener Award in the category of best Family-Owned Business. The Saint Paul Area Chamber of Commerce presents the award to one company that exemplifies growth, excellence, risk, diversity and innovation. Arlotta is also a recipient of the prestigious 40 Under Forty award from the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal, which honors business professionals under the age of 40 in the Twin Cities.

The announcement of 2012 season awards continues tomorrow with the Tom Borrelli Award, presented to the Media Person of the Year.

Recent News

Popular Articles

Watch NE at TOR (7pm ET) & EDM at CGY (9pm ET) live on NLL.com

Teams announce rosters for 2015

12/18/2014, 1:00pm EST
By NLL.com

Find out which players made the final cut following league's roster deadline

NLL rosters feature 28 CLax players

12/18/2014, 12:55pm EST
By NLL.com

21 Canadian Lacrosse League alums & seven draftees made the final cut

Tag(s): Home  Minnesota Swarm