skip navigation
Home News NLL Teams Scores Players Schedule Standings Stats Video Tickets Shops Fantasy Multimedia About NLL Search Results

Jake Elliott wins Tom Borrelli Award, presented to NLL Media Person of the Year

06/06/2012, 12:28pm EDT
By NLL.com

Swarm TV announcer becomes first broadcaster to win the award

Jake Elliott interviews Swarm player Tyler Haas following a game earlier this season.

The National Lacrosse League has announced that Jake Elliott is the winner of The Tom Borrelli Award, given annually to the NLL Media Person of the Year. Elliott is the television play-by-play announcer for the Minnesota Swarm, and also serves as co-host of ‘Inside the Hive’, the team’s weekly in-season podcast.

Elliott just completed his first season as play-by-play announcer for all Swarm home games on Minneapolis/St. Paul television station KSTC 45.  Elliott has more than a decade of lacrosse play-by-play announcing experience, and his broadcasts on KSTC in 2012 were also seen by NLL fans across North America as they also aired on The NLL Network. 

Joe Moore, Elliott's broadcast partner on KSTC, gave insight on Elliott's broadcasting style. "Jake is extremely knowledgeable about the game. He knows the players and teams inside and out. I’ve learned so much from him in our first season of calling games together.  He’s extremely plugged into the lacrosse community.”  Moore continued, “Best of all, Jake is very down to earth and connects with people very easily. That really comes across in the broadcasts. His experience with the game combined with his passion for the sport comes out in his style and makes for a very informative and enthusiastic broadcast."

The award is named in honor of the late Tom Borrelli, who covered the Buffalo Bandits from the team’s inception in 1992 until his death in November 2008 for The Buffalo News.  

Borrelli passed away on November 20, 2008, following injuries from an accident that took place while covering a high school football game in Buffalo.  Borrelli was recognized by the NLL Hall of Fame in 2007, and was the first member of the media to be recognized by the Hall of Fame for their contributions to the game.

Originally presented to the league’s Writer of the Year, the award was changed to Media Person of the Year in 2011 to allow for a wider range of media members to be considered for the award, including broadcasters.  Elliott is the first television or radio announcer to win the award.  Last year’s winner was Budd Bailey, Buffalo Bandits beat writer for The Buffalo News. 

The Media Person of the Year Award is chosen by a vote of the league’s Board of Governors.

Recent News

Popular Articles

Teams announce rosters for 2015

12/18/2014, 1:00pm EST
By NLL.com

Find out which players made the final cut following league's roster deadline

Watch NE at TOR (7pm ET) & EDM at CGY (9pm ET) live on NLL.com

NLL rosters feature 28 CLax players

12/18/2014, 12:55pm EST
By NLL.com

21 Canadian Lacrosse League alums & seven draftees made the final cut

Tag(s): Home  Minnesota Swarm  Minnesota Swarm  Minnesota Swarm  Minnesota Swarm  Minnesota Swarm  Minnesota Swarm  Minnesota Swarm  Minnesota Swarm