skip navigation
Home News NLL Teams Scores Players Schedule Standings Stats Video Tickets Shops Fantasy Multimedia About NLL Search Results

Rock's Cordingley wins Les Bartley Head Coach of the Year Award

04/30/2013, 3:30pm EDT
By NLL.com

Toronto's head coach led team to NLL regular season title in 2013

The Toronto Rock's Troy Cordingley became the franchise's first head coach to win the Les Bartley Head Coach of the Year Award after helping lead the team to the 2013 NLL regular season title with a 10-6 record. (Photo: Larry Palumbo)

The National Lacrosse League has announced that Troy Cordingley from the Toronto Rock has won the Les Bartley Award as the Head Coach of the Year for the 2013 NLL season.

Cordingley coached the Rock to a league-best 10-6 record this year, securing the NLL regular season title for Toronto. He becomes the first head coach in franchise history to win the Les Bartley Award.

"This is a real honor," Cordingley said. "To be recognized with an award that is named after the great Les Bartley leaves me speechless. Les meant so much to this game and to our league. I had the chance to play for him in Buffalo and he had a strong influence on me as a person and as a coach."

With a veteran roster on a franchise with a storied winning tradition, there were high expectations for both coaches and players to live up to entering the season.

"Our coaching staff puts in a lot of time year round and this award is a reflection of their commitment and hard work as we strive to reach the goals we set for this team," Cordingley said. "Terry Sanderson, John Lovell, Matt Sawyer, Pat Campbell, Phil Sanderson and Dave Pym all share in this award as it takes an entire coaching staff working together to be successful."

Cordingley played nine seasons in the league, winning two titles with the Buffalo Bandits in 1993 and 1996, before retiring as a player in 2001. He won the Bartley Award with the Calgary Roughnecks in 2009, the same year that he won his first NLL championship as head coach.

After taking over for the Rock in 2010 and helping them reach the title game in his first season, Cordingley led Toronto to a Champion's Cup win at home in the 2011 NLL Championship Game.

Edmonton Rush general manager and head coach Derek Keenan was the runner-up for the award while Washington Stealth head coach Chris Hall finished third in the voting.

The Head Coach of the Year Award is named in honor of the late Les Bartley, whose contribution to his teams, to the NLL, and to the game of lacrosse is immeasurable. Bartley, who lost his battle with cancer in May of 2005, left behind a coaching legacy. He won seven championship rings in his 12-year coaching career and tallied an astonishing 93-38 (.710) regular season record behind the bench.

The announcement of 2013 NLL Season Awards continues Wednesday with both the Defensive Player of the Year Award and Transition Player of the Year Award. The 2013 NLL Season Awards are determined by a vote of the league's Board of Governors, General Managers and Head Coaches.

Recent News

Popular Articles

Watch NE at TOR (7pm ET) & EDM at CGY (9pm ET) live on NLL.com

Teams announce rosters for 2015

12/18/2014, 1:00pm EST
By NLL.com

Find out which players made the final cut following league's roster deadline

NLL rosters feature 28 CLax players

12/18/2014, 12:55pm EST
By NLL.com

21 Canadian Lacrosse League alums & seven draftees made the final cut

Tag(s): Home  Toronto Rock