skip navigation
Home News NLL Teams Scores Players Schedule Standings Stats Video Tickets Shops Fantasy Multimedia About NLL Search Results

Pannell wins Tewaaraton Trophy

05/31/2013, 12:00pm EDT
By NLL.com

Cornell's NLL Draft prospect finished as NCAA's career points leader

Cornell University attackman and NLL Entry Draft prospect Rob Pannell won the 2013 Tewaaraton Trophy as the most outstanding player in NCAA lacrosse and finished with the most career points in NCAA history. (Photo: Michael Perez/AP Photo)

Cornell University attackman and 2013 NLL Entry Draft prospect Rob Pannell was named the winner of the 2013 Tewaaraton Trophy, the premier award in collegiate lacrosse, in a ceremony at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. on Thursday.

Pannell became the Big Red's second recipient of the award by joining Philadelphia Wings transition player Max Seibald (2009). Cornell is now one of just four schools to boast multiple Tewaaraton Trophy winners (Duke, Syracuse, UVA).

"It's a tremendous honor to win such a prestigious award and to be the second Cornellian to win along with my best friend Max Seibald,” said Pannell. “This award really belongs to my team, especially the senior class. It speaks volumes about the great team we had this year and to the success that we had. Without them I would not have received this award tonight. I couldn't be happier to represent Cornell University and the Cornell Lacrosse family and need to thank everyone that has helped along the way."

The award is the latest in a long list for Pannell, who was recently named the winner of the USILA Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award, for the Outstanding Division I Player of the Year, as well as the Ivy League Player of the Year. He is the first-ever three-time Ivy League Player of the Year in men's lacrosse and just the fourth player in the history of Division I college lacrosse to be named conference player of the year three times during their career.

The all-time NCAA Division I career points leader (354), Pannell became one of just four Cornell players to earn All-American honors four times during their career when the teams were announced last week. A two-time Tewaaraton Trophy finalist, he has been named first-team All-American for the past three seasons, after earning a third-team selection as a freshman. Pannell is also just the third men's lacrosse player in the history of the Ivy League to be named a four-time first-team All-Ivy selection.

One of the greatest to ever play the game at Cornell, Pannell has proven to be one of the most consistent players in the country, having registered at least one point in all 72 games of his career. He capped his senior season by ranking third in the nation in points per game (5.67), third overall in assists per game (3.06), and 14th overall in goals per game (2.61).

Pannell finished the 2013 campaign with 102 points, just three off the school record, set by current Philadelphia Wings owner and president Mike French in 1976. His 55 assists during the season are good for fourth overall in Cornell history, while his 47 goals rank 10th best in a single season.

Pannell, whose 102 points this season were the most ever for a Tewaaraton Award winner, is expected to be a top pick in the 2013 NLL Entry Draft this Fall.

"The numbers Pannell has posted could speak for themselves," said NLL Draft analyst Stephen Stamp from IL Indoor. "As NCAA lacrosse's all-time leading scorer, Pannell is a supremely talented player with a knack for making those around him better as well. As with any field player trying to make the adjustment to the indoor game, it's hard to say exactly how his game will translate to the box version of the sport. His work ethic and team-first approach, however, suggest that he'll be able to make the transition and become a valuable contributor for an NLL team."

Along with Pannell, the other men's finalists were North Carolina senior attackman Marcus Holman, Syracuse senior midfielder and NLL Draft prospect JoJo Marasco, Princeton junior midfielder Tom Schreiber and Albany sophomore Lyle Thompson. Thompson, a member of the Onondaga Nation, was the first Native American finalist for the Tewaaraton.

University of Maryland senior Katie Schwarzmann won the women's Tewaaraton Trophy for the second-straight year and helped lead her team to the NCAA championship game.

The winners are chosen by selection committees, comprised of 12 men's and 10 women's current and former college coaches, that are appointed by The Tewaaraton Foundation. Players are nominated by coaches from all three NCAA divisions during the season. The nominees are then screened by the respective committees. Five finalists are then selected by the committees after the end of the season.

Cornell University Athletics and the USA Today contributed to this report.

Recent News

Popular Articles

Edmonton roughs up Calgary on the road with decisive exhibition victory

Teams announce rosters for 2015

12/18/2014, 1:00pm EST
By NLL.com

Find out which players made the final cut following league's roster deadline

Toronto finishes 2-1 in preseason by cruising past New England at TRAC

Tag(s): Home