skip navigation
Home News NLL Teams Scores Players Schedule Standings Stats Video Tickets Shops Fantasy Multimedia About NLL Search Results

2014 NLL Executive of the Year

06/23/2014, 3:00pm EDT
By NLL.com

Calgary's Bean, Rochester's Styres & Edmonton's Urban named finalists

The National Lacrosse League has announced three finalists for the 2014 NLL Executive of the Year award. John Bean from the Calgary Roughnecks, Curt Styres of the Rochester Knighthawks and Bruce Urban from the Edmonton Rush are the top vote recipients for their roles as executives with their respective teams.

John Bean, Chief Operating Officer of the Calgary Sports and Entertainment Corporation, Calgary Roughnecks & Governor, Chairman of the NLL Audit Finance Committee
As part of the Calgary Sports and Entertainment Corporation (CSEC), Bean has led a skilled team of ticketing, sponsorship and in-game promotion to drive significantly improved results. As a member of the NLL Board of Governors, John continues to assist the league and all its partners by focusing the NLL and its member teams on the current financial model. In addition, John serves as a member and chairman of the NLL Audit Finance Committee. As Chief Operating Officer of the CSEC, John led the rebuild efforts of the Scotiabank Saddledome’s entire event level following the devastating floods of 2013. This immense undertaking was finished in just 65 days while a project of this scope and magnitude normally takes three or four times that to complete.

Curt Styres, Owner & General Manager, Rochester Knighthawks
Since purchasing the team in 2008, Styres has taken a hands-on approach to re-establishing a winning tradition, on and off the field, in Rochester. The team has continued to enjoy success because of the work of Styres and his lacrosse staff. In his dual role as owner and general manager, he has ensured his team’s success by signing several cornerstone players to long-term deals. The team’s exploits on the turf has translated into success at the box office. In 2014, the Knighthawks and their front office have significantly helped increase the team’s ticket sales and has seen major growth in the reaching younger lacrosse fans. Under Styres’ leadership, the Knighthawks support the City of Rochester through their charitable endeavors and have made tremendous strides in media coverage. The Knighthawks have also placed nearly a dozen stories in the media on their community outreach programs, especially the anti-bullying campaign.

Bruce Urban, Owner & Governor, Edmonton Rush
Under Urban's guidance, the Edmonton Rush saw a 17% increase in home attendance at Rexall Place in 2014 from last year. On the field, the Rush had a historic season with a league-record 14-0 start and ultimately earned the best overall record in the NLL. Urban has continued to bring major attractions to Rush games while overseeing special jerseys worn throughout the year for promotional and charitable initiatives. Urban also helped orchestrate Rush events in the community including team visits to a local children's hospital, anti-bullying campaign in area schools, and viewing parties for away games in conjunction with the Edmonton Crush dance team. The Rush experienced an increase in media coverage in their market, including both television and print, highlighted by being featured on the front page of the Edmonton Sun during their undefeated start.

The 2014 NLL Executive of the Year award is determined by a vote of the league's Board of Governors at the end of the regular season. The winner will be announced at the first-ever NLL Season Awards Ceremony on Sunday, Sept. 21 in Oakville, Ontario.

Recent News

Popular Articles

Watch NE at TOR (7pm ET) & EDM at CGY (9pm ET) live on NLL.com

Teams announce rosters for 2015

12/18/2014, 1:00pm EST
By NLL.com

Find out which players made the final cut following league's roster deadline

NLL rosters feature 28 CLax players

12/18/2014, 12:55pm EST
By NLL.com

21 Canadian Lacrosse League alums & seven draftees made the final cut

Tag(s): Home  Rochester Knighthawks  Calgary Roughnecks  Edmonton Rush