skip navigation
Home News NLL Teams Scores Players Schedule Standings Stats Video Tickets Shops Fantasy Multimedia About NLL Search Results

Chavez wins 2014 NLL Media Person of the Year (Tom Borrelli Award)

06/24/2014, 3:00pm EDT
By NLL.com

IL Indoor co-editor honored for lacrosse reporting excellence this past year

Bob Chavez (IL Indoor and Rochester D&C) won 2014 NLL Media Person of the Year (Tom Borrelli Award). (Photo: Dale MacMillan)

The National Lacrosse League has announced that Bob Chavez from IL Indoor has won The Tom Borrelli Award, annually presented to the NLL Media Person of the Year, for the 2014 season.

Chavez provided comprehensive coverage of the league and sport over the past 12 months while serving as co-editor of IL Indoor in addition to his role as sports and copy editor with the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle. With almost 20 years experience covering the game, Chavez has demonstrated an unparalleled commitment to lacrosse reporting since his start in 1995.

"To know that coaches and GMs, the people who really know this game, appreciate what I do really means a lot," Chavez said. "I'm thankful and grateful to be a part of the team at Inside Lacrosse so we can do our best to cover the game that we all love and enjoy." 

The award is named in honor of the late Tom Borrelli, who covered the Buffalo Bandits for The Buffalo News from the team’s inception in 1992 until 2008. Borrelli passed away in November 2008 after an accident that took place while he was covering a high school football game in Buffalo. In 2007, Borrelli had become the first media member to be recognized by the NLL Hall of Fame for contributions to the game.

"This is very special to me as I got to know Tom at NLL games as well as high school games," Chavez said. "Winning this award is very humbling."

Chavez joins co-editor Stephen Stamp (2013) as back-to-back winners from IL Indoor and becomes the second media person to win from the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle, joining Sal Maiorana (2006).

The Tom Borrelli Award is determined by a vote of the league's team public relations personnel. Originally presented to the league’s Writer of the Year, the award’s title was changed to Media Person of the Year in 2011 to allow for a wider range of media members to be considered for the award.

Recent News

Popular Articles

Teams announce rosters for 2015

12/18/2014, 1:00pm EST
By NLL.com

Find out which players made the final cut following league's roster deadline

Knighthawks sign Wilson

12/17/2014, 10:00am EST
By NLL.com

12-year NLL veteran forward returns to Rochester after release from Buffalo

Edmonton's NLL GM & Head Coach of the Year steps away for family reasons

Tag(s): Home