skip navigation
Home News NLL Teams Scores Players Schedule Standings Stats Video Tickets Shops Fantasy Multimedia About NLL Search Results

Team USA opens FIL World Lax 2014 with 10-7 win over Team Canada

07/11/2014, 12:45am EDT
By NLL.com

U.S. keyed by 8-goal run after early 3-0 deficit, NLL players make impact

Team USA beat Canada 10-7 to open the 2014 FIL World Lacrosse Championships in Denver. (Photo: Scott McCall/US Lacrosse)

COMMERCE CITY, Colo. – After digging a 3-0 hole, the United States went on an eight-goal run to defeat Canada 10-7 before 11,447 fans at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in the opening game of the 2014 Federation of International Lacrosse World Championship, presented by Trusted Choice.

Click here for the boxscore and complete statistics from the U.S. vs. Canada opener.

Canada’s Mark Matthews scored the lone goal of the first quarter and then Curtis Dickson and Jeremy Noble scored in the opening four minutes of the second quarter to give the Canadians a 3-0 lead. Those would be their last goals until late in the third quarter, a scoreless stretch of more than 30 minutes.

Kevin Buchanan and Paul Rabil keyed the start of the U.S. run with Buchanan notching the first goal of the game and the game-tying goal at 3-3 with 10:33 left in the second quarter. Rabil assisted on both of Buchanan’s goals and then scored unassisted with 6:24 left in the first half to give the U.S. a 4-3 lead it would not relinquish.

Rob Pannell scored two third-quarter goals to give the U.S. a 9-4 lead heading into the fourth quarter, but Canada’s Geoff Snider won the faceoff to start the final quarter and scored six seconds in and then Zack Greer added a goal less than two minutes later to cut it to 9-6. Rabil responded with his second goal at 16:26 left in the game and no one else scored until Kevin Crowley closed the scoring for Canada with 2:39 left in the game.

Rabil led the U.S. offense with two goals and two assists while Buchanan and Pannell each added two goals and an assist. Greer had two goals for Canada and Matthews added a goal and an assist.

The U.S. won the faceoff battle, taking 12 of 21 with Chris Eck winning 8-of-16 and Greg Gurenlian winning 4-of-5 against Snider.

Canada’s Dillon Ward made 18 saves to keep his team in it as the U.S. outshot Canada 40-20. Jesse Schwartzman made seven saves to record the win for the U.S.

The U.S. and Canada will be off until Saturday, but play opens for the other 36 nations on Friday. The schedule is listed below while a complete listing of broadcasts and streaming information can be found online at worldlacrosse2014.com/broadcast

Friday, July 11 (All times Mountain)
8 a.m. – Netherlands vs. China, Field 10
8:30 a.m. – Latvia vs. Switzerland, Field 8
9 a.m. – Italy vs. Norway, Field 4
9 a.m. – Bermuda vs. France, Field 6
9 a.m. – Wales vs. Russia, Field 3
9:30 a.m. – Hong Kong vs. Austria, Field 1
11 a.m. – Scotland vs. Thailand, Field 10
11:30 a.m. – Finland vs. Colombia, Field 2
11:30 a.m. – Slovakia vs. Korea, Field 5
11:30 a.m. – Sweden vs. Israel, Field 8
12 p.m. – Czech Republic vs. Turkey, Field 6
12:30 p.m. – Poland vs. Costa Rica, Field 1
12:30 p.m. – New Zealand vs. Argentina, Field 3
12:30 p.m. – Spain vs. Mexico, Field 4
2 p.m. – Germany vs. Belgium, Field 10
2:30 p.m. – Ireland vs. Uganda, Field 8
5 p.m. – Australia vs. Japan, Stadium
8 p.m. – England vs. Iroquois Nationals, Stadium

Story courtesy of U.S. Lacrosse.

A total of 17 players who played in the NLL this past season suited up for the game. NLL pros combined for seven goals and three assists, highlighted by two goals from Zack Greer and 18 saves from Dillon Ward for Team Canada in the losing effort and an early goal from Garrett Thul for Team USA. Rochester Knighthawks goalie and reigning NLL Goaltender of the Year Matt Vinc, a finalist for the award again this year along with the league's MVP award, suited up for the Canadian squad as a close defender.

Kyle Rubisch (Edmonton Rush)
Jesse Gamble (Toronto Rock)
Brodie Merrill (Philadelphia Wings)
Cam Flint (Minnesota Swarm)
Cameron Holding (Colorado Mammoth)
Kevin Crowley (Philadelphia Wings)
Adam Jones (Colorado Mammoth)
Jordan MacIntosh (Minnesota Swarm)
Geoff Snider (Calgary Roughnecks)
Dillon Ward (Colorado Mammoth)
Mark Matthews (Edmonton Rush)
Jordan Hall (Philadelphia Wings)
Jason Noble (Minnesota Swarm)
Matt Vinc (Rochester Knighthawks)
Curtis Dickson (Calgary Roughnecks)
Zack Greer (Edmonton Rush)
Garrett Thul (Philadelphia Wings)

More NLL stars including 2014 NLL scoring champion and MVP finalist Cody Jamieson (Rochester Knighthawks), Sid Smith (Rochester Knighthawks), Brett Bucktooth (Vancouver Stealth), Jeremy Thompson (Edmonton Rush), Jeff Shattler (Calgary Roughnecks) and Craig Point (Rochester Knighthawks) will be on display with the Iroquois Nationals when they take on England on Friday at 10 p.m. ET.

Recent News

Popular Articles

Teams announce rosters for 2015

12/18/2014, 1:00pm EST
By NLL.com

Find out which players made the final cut following league's roster deadline

New England sends fourth-round pick in 2015 to Colorado for netminder

Knighthawks sign Wilson

12/17/2014, 10:00am EST
By NLL.com

12-year NLL veteran forward returns to Rochester after release from Buffalo

Tag(s): Home