National Lacrosse League welcomes Powell Lacrosse as the first Foundational Partner of NLL UnBOXed™ Full Story

Scores / Schedule

2015 Nll Teammate Of The Year

The National Lacrosse League has announced three finalists for the 2015 NLL Teammate of the Year Award. Edmonton Rush forward Jarrett Davis, Vancouver Stealth forward Joel McCready and Toronto Rock forward Josh Sanderson were voted by NLL players as the league’s best teammates in 2015.

Davis finished fifth on the Rush in scoring with 46 points (13+33) while adding career-highs in loose balls (61) and caused turnovers (19) in 17 games played. The fifth-year pro helped Edmonton to a first-place finish in the West Division as the franchise eventually went on to win its first Champion’s Cup. The Port Moody, B.C. native’s 46 points and 33 assists marked his second-highest career totals for those categories. Davis had at least three points in 11 games played including nine-straight three-plus point games to close the regular season. The 27-year-old, who played collegiately at Bellarmine University, was selected in the first round (5th overall) of the 2010 NLL Draft.

McCready had a career year with personal highs in goals (30), assists (21) and points (51) in 18 games played with the Stealth as the team’s fourth-leading scorer. The 27-year-old’s 30 goals tied for 22nd-most in the league while his 51 points ranked inside the NLL’s top 40 for scoring. The sixth-year pro also recovered 50 loose balls and had a .240 shooting percentage, sixth-best in the league among players with 10 or more goals. McCready had three or more points in 10 games played and registered six hat tricks. The St. Catharines, Ont. native, who played collegiately at Cornell University, was selected in the second round (18th overall) of the 2008 NLL Draft.

Sanderson tied for the league lead and tied the NLL single-season record with 83 assists while finishing sixth in the scoring race with 102 points (19+83). The 38-year-old helped the Rock to a first-place finish and eventual East Division title as the team’s leading scorer. The 18-year NLL veteran had 13 points in one game, which marked the highest single-game output in the league this year, and had at least one point in all 18 games played including 11 games with six-plus points. His 90 loose balls were fifth-most among NLL forwards. Sanderson won the Pinty’s Wingman of the Week award, given to a player demonstrating unselfish play and passing prowess, three times. The Orangeville, Ont. native, who was a second-round (16th overall) selection in 1997 NLL Draft, won the NLL Player of the Month award for January.

New for the 2015 season, the award was created to honor players who demonstrate exemplary teamwork and leadership qualities during the course of the regular season. The award recognizes the “ideal teammate” who exemplifies selfless play along with commitment and dedication to their team. The recipient will be an individual considered to be a superior leader within the NLL and as a contributing member of society. The best candidates are those who lead by positive example through on-floor performance, motivation of team members, and dedication to community activities and charitable causes.

NLL players voted one teammate from their respective teams into the pool of nine nominees, which was then voted on by players league-wide to determine the three finalists.

2015 NLL Teammate of the Year nominees
Derek Suddons (Buffalo Bandits)
Frankie Scigliano (Calgary Roughnecks)
Tyler Codron (Colorado Mammoth)
Jarrett Davis (Edmonton Rush)
Kiel Matisz (Minnesota Swarm)
Brett Manney (New England Black Wolves)
Sid Smith (Rochester Knighthawks)
Josh Sanderson (Toronto Rock)
Joel McCready (Vancouver Stealth)

The 2015 NLL Teammate of the Year award is determined by voting among NLL players at the end of the regular season. The winner will be announced at the NLL Season Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, Sept. 29 in Toronto, Ont.

Schedule of finalist announcement for the remaining NLL Season Awards:

Tuesday, June 30: Pinty’s Wingman of the Year award finalists

Monday, July 6: Media Person of the Year (The Tom Borrelli Award) winner

Tuesday, September 29: 2015 NLL Season Awards Ceremony