National Lacrosse League welcomes Powell Lacrosse as the first Foundational Partner of NLL UnBOXed™ Full Story

Scores / Schedule
Press ReleasesStories/Op-Ed

Fans Invited To Help Select Nominees For Nll Hall Of Fame Class Of 2016

The National Lacrosse League invites fans to suggest candidates for the next round of nominations for the NLL Hall of Fame. Fans can submit their Class of 2016 suggestions via the league’s Facebook, Instagram and Twitter pages until Tuesday, July 5 with the Hall of Fame selection criteria listed below.

The league’s Hall of Fame Committee will take the suggestions into consideration when putting together a list of nominees for the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2016. A final vote by the league’s Board of Governors will follow as to which nominees will become the next members of the Hall of Fame.

Terry Sanderson was the lone inductee of the Class of 2015. Last year’s first-time nominees were Kevin Finneran, Tracey Kelusky and Gavin Prout, all of whom will return as finalists again in 2016. Nominees who do not gain admission into the Hall of Fame in their first year are automatically placed on the ballot for the following season.

Fans can make their suggestions by using #NLLHOF or commenting on the corresponding posts on the league’s social media accounts at Facebook.com/NLLInstagram.com/NLL and Twitter.com/NLL.

Hall of Fame Selection Criteria:

In order for a player, coach, official or executive to be considered for the NLL Hall of Fame, their careers in professional indoor lacrosse must meet the following criteria:

– Player must be retired from playing professional indoor lacrosse in order to be eligible for consideration and shall be considered based on the individual’s record, ability, integrity, sportsmanship, character, and contributions to the team and sport.

– Coach must have coached for at least eight seasons in professional indoor lacrosse. The coach can be active or retired.

– Official (referee) must be retired and have had officiated within the league for at least eight seasons.

– Executive must have been affiliated as an executive with a team or the league for at least eight seasons. 

Current NLL Hall of Fame Members:

Class of 2006 (Founding Members)
Les Bartley
Russ Cline
Chris Fritz
Gary Gait
Paul Gait

Class of 2007
Mike French
Darris Kilgour
Tom Marechek

Class of 2008
Sal LoCascio
Johnny Mouradian
Tony Resch

Class of 2009
Dallas Eliuk
Jim Veltman

Class of 2010
Rich Kilgour
Dan Stroup
John Tucker

Class of 2011
Bob Watson

Class of 2012
Steve Dietrich

Class of 2013
Pat O’Toole

Class of 2014
Pat Coyle
Chris Hall

Class of 2015
Terry Sanderson

Media Recognition
Tom Borrelli (2007)
Neil Stevens (2008)