National Lacrosse League welcomes Powell Lacrosse as the first Foundational Partner of NLL UnBOXed™ Full Story

Scores / Schedule
Press ReleasesStories/Op-Ed

Teddy Jenner Named 2016 Nll Media Person Of The Year

The National Lacrosse League has announced Teddy Jenner from IL Indoor as The Tom Borrelli Award winner, annually presented to the NLL Media Person of the Year, for the 2016 season.

After a six-year stint playing in the NLL for Rochester, Anaheim, Minnesota and Edmonton from 2002 to 2007, Jenner made the quick transition off the floor and into the broadcast booth. He has since built a career providing in-depth insight into the professional indoor game.

As the host of the “Off The Crosse Bar” podcast and a leading contributor to Inside Lacrosse’s coverage of the NLL, the Victoria, B.C. native has become one of the most trusted sources in the sport.

“I always knew I would never really leave the game, that I would be involved in the media side,” Jenner said. “But I never envisioned joining such esteemed company as previous winners Paul Tutka, Budd Bailey, Steve Ewen and more. I never met Mr. Borrelli but he was a pioneer and I’m honored and humbled to win this award.”

The award is named in honor of the late Tom Borrelli, who covered the Buffalo Bandits for The Buffalo News from the team’s inception in 1992 until 2008. Borrelli passed away in November 2008 after an accident that took place while covering high school football in Buffalo. In 2007, he had become the first media member to be recognized by the NLL Hall of Fame for contributions to the game.

The Tom Borrelli Award was determined by a vote of the league’s media members. First presented in 2005 to the league’s Writer of the Year, the award’s title was changed to Media Person of the Year in 2011 to allow for a wider range of eligible candidates.

NLL Media Person of the Year (The Tom Borrelli Award) winners

2005: Mike Koreen (Toronto Sun)
2006: Sal Maiorana (Rochester Democrat & Chronicle)
2007: Ty Pilson (Calgary Sun)
2008: Paul Tutka (NLLInsider.com)
2009: Paul Tutka (NLLInsider.com)
2010: Paul Tutka (NLLInsider.com)
2011: Budd Bailey (The Buffalo News)
2012: Jake Elliott (Minnesota Swarm)
2013: Stephen Stamp (IL Indoor)
2014: Bob Chavez (IL Indoor)
2015: Steve Ewen (The Province)
2016: Teddy Jenner (IL Indoor)