fbpx

Download Your Favorite Teams Schedule Here

×
WK
1
Fri, Dec 2
FINAL
Philadelphia
8
Halifax
18
HT
00:00
Vancouver
4
Toronto
13
Sat, Dec 3
19:30:00
San Diego
New York
Sat, Dec 3
19:30:00
Albany
Buffalo
Sat, Dec 3
20:00:00
Rochester
Georgia
Sat, Dec 3
20:30:00
Colorado
Saskatchewan
WK
2
Fri, Dec 9
20:30:00
Las Vegas
Panther City
Fri, Dec 9
22:00:00
Saskatchewan
San Diego
Sat, Dec 10
19:00:00
Toronto
Rochester
Sat, Dec 10
21:30:00
Vancouver
Calgary
WK
3
Fri, Dec 16
22:00:00
Calgary
Vancouver
Fri, Dec 16
22:30:00
Panther City
Las Vegas
Sat, Dec 17
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
Sat, Dec 17
19:00:00
Rochester
Albany
Sat, Dec 17
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Georgia
Sat, Dec 17
19:30:00
Halifax
New York
Sat, Dec 17
20:00:00
Colorado
Panther City
WK
5
Fri, Dec 30
19:30:00
Halifax
Buffalo
Fri, Dec 30
21:00:00
San Diego
Calgary
Sat, Dec 31
21:00:00
Panther City
Saskatchewan
WK
6
Fri, Jan 6
22:30:00
Philadelphia
Las Vegas
Sat, Jan 7
19:00:00
Panther City
Rochester
Sat, Jan 7
19:00:00
Halifax
Albany
Sat, Jan 7
19:00:00
Buffalo
Georgia
Sat, Jan 7
19:30:00
Toronto
New York
Sat, Jan 7
22:00:00
Vancouver
San Diego
Sun, Jan 8
0:00:00
Calgary
Colorado
WK
7
Fri, Jan 13
18:30:00
Albany
Halifax
Fri, Jan 13
21:00:00
Saskatchewan
Colorado
Sat, Jan 14
19:00:00
Halifax
Toronto
Sat, Jan 14
19:00:00
Panther City
Philadelphia
Sat, Jan 14
19:30:00
Georgia
Buffalo
Sat, Jan 14
21:00:00
San Diego
Calgary
Sat, Jan 14
22:00:00
Las Vegas
Vancouver
Sun, Jan 15
15:00:00
Rochester
New York
WK
8
Fri, Jan 20
19:30:00
Buffalo
Rochester
Fri, Jan 20
22:30:00
Vancouver
Las Vegas
Sat, Jan 21
19:00:00
New York
Albany
Sat, Jan 21
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
9
Fri, Jan 27
18:00:00
Rochester
Halifax
Fri, Jan 27
19:00:00
Buffalo
Philadelphia
Sat, Jan 28
19:30:00
Buffalo
New York
Sat, Jan 28
20:30:00
Las Vegas
Saskatchewan
Sat, Jan 28
21:00:00
Toronto
Calgary
Sat, Jan 28
21:00:00
San Diego
Colorado
Sat, Jan 28
22:00:00
Panther City
Vancouver
WK
10
Fri, Feb 3
21:00:00
Georgia
Colorado
Sat, Feb 4
18:00:00
Calgary
Halifax
Sat, Feb 4
19:00:00
New York
Toronto
Sat, Feb 4
19:00:00
Albany
Philadelphia
Sat, Feb 4
19:30:00
Rochester
Buffalo
Sat, Feb 4
22:00:00
Panther City
San Diego
Sat, Feb 4
22:00:00
Saskatchewan
Vancouver
Sat, Feb 4
22:30:00
Colorado
Las Vegas
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
19:30:00
Toronto
Georgia
Fri, Feb 10
21:00:00
Saskatchewan
Calgary
Sat, Feb 11
19:00:00
Halifax
Rochester
Sat, Feb 11
19:30:00
Albany
New York
Sat, Feb 11
20:00:00
Vancouver
Panther City
Sat, Feb 11
21:00:00
Colorado
Calgary
WK
12
Fri, Feb 17
22:00:00
Saskatchewan
San Diego
Fri, Feb 17
22:00:00
Calgary
Vancouver
Sat, Feb 18
19:00:00
Georgia
Toronto
Sat, Feb 18
19:00:00
Las Vegas
Albany
Sat, Feb 18
19:30:00
Philadelphia
Buffalo
Sat, Feb 18
20:00:00
Colorado
Panther City
Sun, Feb 19
13:00:00
New York
Halifax
WK
13
Fri, Feb 24
21:00:00
Panther City
Colorado
Fri, Feb 24
22:30:00
Calgary
Las Vegas
Sat, Feb 25
19:00:00
New York
Rochester
Sat, Feb 25
19:00:00
Albany
Georgia
Sat, Feb 25
20:00:00
Vancouver
Saskatchewan
WK
14
Fri, Mar 3
18:30:00
Buffalo
Halifax
Fri, Mar 3
21:00:00
Las Vegas
San Diego
Sat, Mar 4
11:30:00
New York
Philadelphia
Sat, Mar 4
19:00:00
Rochester
Toronto
Sat, Mar 4
19:00:00
Georgia
Albany
Sat, Mar 4
20:00:00
Saskatchewan
Panther City
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Fri, Mar 10
19:30:00
Halifax
Buffalo
Fri, Mar 10
21:00:00
Calgary
Colorado
Sat, Mar 11
19:00:00
Albany
Toronto
Sat, Mar 11
19:30:00
Philadelphia
New York
Sat, Mar 11
20:30:00
San Diego
Saskatchewan
Sat, Mar 11
22:30:00
Vancouver
Las Vegas
Sun, Mar 12
16:00:00
Rochester
Georgia
WK
16
Fri, Mar 17
21:00:00
Saskatchewan
Calgary
Fri, Mar 17
22:00:00
San Diego
Vancouver
Sat, Mar 18
11:00:00
Georgia
Philadelphia
Sat, Mar 18
18:00:00
Toronto
Halifax
Sat, Mar 18
19:30:00
Albany
New York
Sat, Mar 18
19:30:00
Colorado
Buffalo
Sat, Mar 18
20:00:00
Las Vegas
Panther City
Sun, Mar 19
15:00:00
Philadelphia
Rochester
WK
17
Fri, Mar 24
20:30:00
San Diego
Panther City
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Toronto
Albany
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Halifax
Philadelphia
Sat, Mar 25
19:30:00
Georgia
New York
Sat, Mar 25
21:30:00
Calgary
Saskatchewan
Sat, Mar 25
22:00:00
Buffalo
San Diego
Sat, Mar 25
22:00:00
Colorado
Vancouver
Sat, Mar 25
22:30:00
Rochester
Las Vegas
WK
18
Fri, Mar 31
20:00:00
New York
Georgia
Fri, Mar 31
21:00:00
Las Vegas
Colorado
Fri, Mar 31
22:00:00
Calgary
San Diego
Sat, Apr 1
19:00:00
Buffalo
Toronto
Sat, Apr 1
20:00:00
Albany
Panther City
Sat, Apr 1
21:30:00
Vancouver
Saskatchewan
Sun, Apr 2
13:00:00
Georgia
Halifax
Sun, Apr 2
18:00:00
Rochester
Philadelphia
WK
19
Sat, Apr 8
19:00:00
Albany
Rochester
Sat, Apr 8
19:00:00
Saskatchewan
Georgia
Sat, Apr 8
21:00:00
Panther City
Calgary
Sat, Apr 8
21:00:00
Vancouver
Colorado
Sat, Apr 8
22:30:00
San Diego
Las Vegas
WK
20
Fri, Apr 14
21:00:00
Las Vegas
Calgary
Fri, Apr 14
21:00:00
San Diego
Colorado
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Georgia
Albany
Sat, Apr 15
19:30:00
New York
Buffalo
Sat, Apr 15
21:30:00
Halifax
Saskatchewan
Sat, Apr 15
22:00:00
Panther City
Vancouver
WK
21
Fri, Apr 21
20:30:00
Calgary
Panther City
Sat, Apr 22
18:00:00
New York
Halifax
Sat, Apr 22
19:00:00
Georgia
Rochester
Sat, Apr 22
20:00:00
Toronto
Buffalo
Sat, Apr 22
21:30:00
Colorado
Saskatchewan
Sat, Apr 22
22:00:00
Las Vegas
San Diego
Sun, Apr 23
15:00:00
Philadelphia
Albany
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Rochester
Sat, Apr 29
19:00:00
Buffalo
Albany
Sat, Apr 29
19:00:00
Halifax
Georgia
Sat, Apr 29
22:00:00
Colorado
San Diego
Sat, Apr 29
22:00:00
New York
Vancouver
Sat, Apr 29
22:30:00
Saskatchewan
Las Vegas
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Game RecapsStories/Op-Ed

Thunderbirds Fly Past Riptide in Season Opener

Perfect is a rare word to use in the game of lacrosse, but the Thunderbirds home opener was the closest thing to it. The Halifax Thunderbirds soared past the other new team to the NLL, the New York Riptide, in a dominant 12-4 victory in the Scotiabank Arena on Saturday night.

A fast start was what the Thunderbirds wanted for the season and Jake Withers made that happen, scoring the first goal in Thunderbirds history 10 seconds into the game. From that point on, the first quarter was fueled by a relentless offense backed by strong defense.

Goals scored by Austin Shanks and Ryan Benesch gave the Thunderbirds a 4 to 0 lead early on due to great ball movement and transition plays. Brad Gillies added a goal in transition followed by a tally from Shanks to take the Thunderbirds into the 2nd quarter with a 7 to 0 lead.

As well as the offense played in the 1st, the goalie performance by Warren Hill was even better. Stopping every shot he faced and making acrobatic saves, Hill locked the defense down, building momentum for the offense to ride on the other end of the field.

Picking right up where they left off, Kyle Jackson added his first goal in the purple and orange 35 seconds into the 2nd quarter with a highlight reel dive. Eric Fannell made the game 9 to 1, while Warren Hill, Graeme Hossack, and the rest of the Thunderbirds defense commanded the other end of the field, holding New York to 2 goals in the first half.

“We’ve got the crowd behind us, and they’re allowing us to keep building,” said defensemen Scott Campbell at the end of the half. “They are some great fans and an awesome atmosphere.”

The Thunderbirds’ first half offense set the tempo for the rest of the game, outshooting the Riptide 28 to 15. While the scoring slowed after the first quarter, the shots remained steady and the ball movement, teamwork, and opportunities kept coming.

The second half for the Thunderbirds was defined on the defensive side of the field. Warren Hill stalled the Riptide offense, refusing to let the ball past him. Allowing only 1 goal in the 3rd with 1 second remaining, the defensive unit for the Thunderbirds showed that they are not to be messed with. The strong defense created scoring opportunities for the offense, but Alex Buque in net for New York rebounded after giving up 9 goals in the first half, posting a 3rd quarter shutout.

Moving into the final quarter, the defensive motifs remained. Both teams’ defensive units stood tall, not allowing a goal to come until the 7:26 mark. The quarter and a half scoring drought for the Thunderbirds was finally broken when Graeme Hossack fed Cory Becker on a fast break to make it 10 to 3. The floodgates for the Thunderbirds opened up after that, as Stephen Keogh tacked on 2 more goals, making the final score 12 to 4.

Jake Withers had a dominant performance at the face-off X while making plays all over the field, scoring the first goal in Halifax Thunderbird history.

“It was unbelievable. It was a big honor. It was kind of a broken play and Jamieson did a great job boxing out the lane there and I picked up the ball with speed, had some open space and thought to myself, ‘I gotta take this,’” said Withers.

The city of Halifax came out strong for their new professional lacrosse team with a packed arena, limitless energy, and a great environment for the growth of the game. From the opening ceremonies with a laser show and pyrotechnics, the crowd was hyped up. The energy the fans provided fueled the game, and the Thunderbirds gave them the show they deserved.

The Thunderbirds will look to keep the momentum going into their next game when they host the Rochester Knighthawks two weeks from now on December 21st at 7:00pm AST/6:00pm EST.

NLL