Happy National Indigenous Peoples Day! Today, We Celebrate the Resilience, Wisdom, and Vibrant Traditions of all Indigenous Peoples

Scores / Schedule
Press ReleasesStories/Op-Ed

2016 Nll Draft Set For September 26 In Toronto

The National Lacrosse League has announced the 2016 NLL Draft will take place on Monday, Sept. 26 at Toronto Rock Athletic Centre (TRAC) in Oakville, Ontario. Watch live on NLL.com starting at 7 p.m. ET as the league welcomes its newest crop of rookies ahead of the 2017 season.

League events at TRAC begin with the 2016 NLL Combine from Saturday, Sept. 24 to Sunday, Sept. 25 as prospects look to showcase their skills to the teams one final time before Monday’s Draft. The 2016 NLL Season Awards Ceremony is set for Tuesday, Sept. 27 with the league announcing winners from the pool of finalists along with All-Pro and All-Rookie Teams.

The two-time defending champion Saskatchewan Rush holds the first overall pick in the Draft along with two more first-rounders at third and ninth overall. The Georgia Swarm also owns three picks in the first round at fourth, eighth and 10th overall while the Rochester Knighthawks will draft back-to-back in the sixth and seventh spots. The Toronto Rock owns the second pick and the Calgary Roughnecks hold the fifth overall selection to round out the first round.

2016 NLL Draft Order as of July 27 (subject to change pending trades):

1. Saskatchewan (from Vancouver)
2. Toronto
3. Saskatchewan (from Rochester)
4. Georgia 
5. Calgary
6. Rochester (from New England)
7. Rochester (from Colorado)
8. Georgia (from Buffalo)
9. Saskatchewan
10. Georgia (compensatory selection)

11. Vancouver
12. Toronto (from Toronto via New England)
13. Buffalo (from Rochester)
14. Georgia
15. Calgary
16. Buffalo (from New England)
17. Georgia (from Colorado)
18. Buffalo
19. Saskatchewan
20. Georgia (compensatory selection)
21. Calgary (compensatory selection)

22. Georgia (from Vancouver)
23. Toronto
24. Georgia (from Rochester)
25. Georgia 
26. Calgary
27. Calgary (from New England)
28. Georgia (from Colorado)
29. Rochester (from Buffalo)
30. Saskatchewan
31. Buffalo (compensatory selection)

32. Vancouver
33. New England (from Toronto)
34. Rochester 
35. Georgia
36. Calgary
37. New England
38. Colorado
39. Buffalo
40. Saskatchewan

41. Vancouver
42. Toronto
43. Rochester 
44. Georgia
45. Calgary
46. Colorado
47. Buffalo
48. Saskatchewan

49. Vancouver
50. Toronto
51. Rochester
52. Buffalo (from Georgia)
53. Calgary
54. New England
55. Colorado
56. New England (from Buffalo)
57. Saskatchewan

More information regarding the 2016 NLL Draft, Combine (including eligibility and registration details), and Season Awards Ceremony will be announced in the coming weeks.