The NLL Looks Like the NHL, and Plays Like the NBA Read the Full Story

Scores / Schedule
Press ReleasesStories/Op-Ed

2016 Nll Transition Player Of The Year Finalists

The National Lacrosse League has announced three finalists for the 2016 NLL Transition Player of the Year award. The Georgia Swarm’s Jordan MacIntosh, Rochester Knighthawks’ Brad Self and Saskatchewan Rush’s Jeremy Thompson were voted as the best three transition players in the league this season.

MacIntosh led the NLL in loose balls (182) and ranked third in faceoffs won (241) while finishing third among transition players in points (30), goals (13), assists (17) and caused turnovers (26), which were ninth-most in the league overall and marked a career high. The fifth-year pro recovered 10 or more loose balls and scored at least one goal in nine games, had at least one point in 13 games this year, and has had 30-plus points in all five of his career seasons. The 26-year-old from Oakville, Ont., who played collegiately at RIT, was a first-round (4th overall) selection in the 2011 NLL Draft. MacIntosh was named back-to-back NLL Transition Player of the Year and All-Pro First Team (2013 & 2014) and was a 2012 NLL All-Rookie Team member.

Self finished sixth among NLL transition players in points (21), tied for fifth in assists (13), seventh in goals (8), and ninth in loose balls (113), which ranked 15th in the league overall, in 15 games played. The 10-year veteran forced 18 turnovers, tied for 10th-most among transition players and tied for 30th overall, recorded at least one point in 12 games in 2016, and has posted at least 20 points in each of his last five seasons. The 35-year-old from Peterborough, Ont., who attended St. Mary’s University, was selected in the second round (18th overall) of the 2001 NLL Draft.

Thompson ranked third in the league in loose balls (174) plus second in faceoffs won (279) and faceoff percentage (56.9%), which both marked career highs. The fifth-year pro tied for seventh among transition players with a career-high 20 points, tied for fifth with a career-best 13 assists and tied for ninth in goals (7) while adding 12 forced turnovers. Thompson has won over 200 faceoffs in each of his last three seasons with over 165 loose balls each year in that span. The 29-year-old from the Onondaga Nation, who played collegiately at Syracuse University, was a second-round (9th overall) selection in the 2011 NLL Draft.

The 2016 NLL Season Awards are determined by a vote of the league’s Board of Governors, General Managers and Head Coaches at the end of the regular season. The winners will be announced at the NLL Season Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, Sept. 27 in Toronto, Ont.

Schedule of finalist announcement for the remaining NLL Season Awards:

Monday, June 27: Head Coach of the Year (The Les Bartley Award) finalists 
Tuesday, June 28: General Manager of the Year award finalists
Wednesday, June 29: Rookie of the Year award finalists
Thursday, June 30: Most Valuable Player award finalists

Tuesday, July 5: Teammate of the Year award finalists
Wednesday, July 6: Air Canada Wingman of the Year award finalists
Thursday, July 7: Executive of the Year award finalists

Monday, July 11: Media Person of the Year (The Tom Borrelli Award) winner

Tuesday, September 27: 2016 NLL Season Awards Ceremony