National Lacrosse League welcomes Powell Lacrosse as the first Foundational Partner of NLL UnBOXed™ Full Story

Scores / Schedule

Bandits Re-Sign Cosmo To One-Year Deal Before Free Agency Opens

14-year veteran & 2014 NLL Goaltender of the Year finalist returns to Buffalo


The Buffalo Bandits have announced that the team has re-signed starting goaltender Anthony Cosmo to a one-year contract prior to the opening of NLL free agency on August 1. With the signing, Buffalo avoided the risk of Cosmo entering the market as an unrestricted free agent.

“We are very pleased to have Anthony return for another season,” said Bandits general manager Steve Dietrich. “Last season, ‘Coz’ proved that he remains one of the top goaltenders in the game and re-signing in Buffalo shows that he wants nothing more than to bring a Champion’s Cup back home to ‘Banditland’.”

Cosmo will be entering his fourth season with the Bandits and 14th overall in the NLL.  A finalist for the 2014 Goaltender of the Year award, Cosmo established a new NLL record with 752 saves this past season and led the NLL in minutes played (1,063).  The Mississauga, Ontario native finished the 2014 season third among league goaltenders in save percentage (.797) and fourth in both goals-against average (10.77) and wins (8).  He also recorded a career-best 10 assists.

“It is exciting to be back with the Bandits,” Cosmo remarked. “We had a great season in 2014 and were one goal away from being in the finals. I am prepared to make-up that one-goal difference this coming year.”

Over his 205-game career, Cosmo has compiled a record of 75-60, to go along with a goals-against average of 10.65 and a .780 save percentage.  The five-time NLL All-Star and 2007 NLL Goaltender of the Year currently sits third in Bandits franchise history in saves (1,520) and fifth in wins (15).

Earlier in the week, the Bandits placed their franchise tag designation on forward Mark Steenhuis and sent qualifying offers to avoid restricted free agency for four players in defensemen Steve Priolo and Rory Smith along with transition players Jay Thorimbert and Andrew Watt.