The NLL Looks Like the NHL, and Plays Like the NBA Read the Full Story

Scores / Schedule

Clean Sweep: Jr. Rock Goes 3-For-3 At Jr. Nll Tourney

The Jr. Rock teams won three Jr. NLL Champion’s Cup titles on Sunday at the Toronto Rock Athletic Centre (TRAC) in Oakville, Ont at the 4th Annual Jr. NLL Tournament. The PeeWee, Bantam and Midget entries posted a combined 19-0 record in the three-day event that attracted Jr. NLL entries from across Canada and U.S. with 400-plus youth players across 27 teams.

The Jr. Rock Midget squad, coached by Rock Owner, President and GM Jamie Dawick, got the winning started by defeating Jr. Edmonton by a score of 12-5. The Jr. Rock jumped out to a 7-0 lead at the half; a gap the Jr. Edmonton squad just couldn’t close in the second half. Josh Dawick’s 3 goals and 2 assists led the midgets. The Tucker Williams MVP Award was presented to Jr. Rock sharpshooter Dyson Williams, Tucker’s older brother.  Rock strength coach Sean Holmes assisted Dawick on the Midget bench throughout the tournament.

In the Bantam final, the Jr. Rock got off to a shaky start against Jr. Edmonton, falling behind 2-0 less than a minute into the game. The Jr. Rock were able to climb out of that early hole and build a 6-4 lead at halftime. The locals held off Jr. Edmonton in the second half, en route to an 11-7 Jr. NLL Champions Cup victory. Tommy Collins scored a pair of key second half goals for the Jr. Rock and was named the Tucker Williams MVP for the Bantam division. Coaching the Bantams to victory were Rock players Nick Rose, Damon Edwards and Brett Hickey.

The Jr. Mammoth were the last team standing between the Jr. Rock and a clean sweep of Jr. NLL Champion’s Cup titles on the day.  The PeeWee Jr. Rock got off to a hot start, jumping out to a 5-1 lead just past the seven-minute mark of the first half. Cameron Sanderson scored three times in the opening half and added a fourth goal in the second half to lead the Jr. Rock PeeWees to a 12-6 victory. The PeeWee division recipient of the Tucker Williams MVP award was Ty Jesso, potting a pair of goals in the final and 10 in the tournament. Rock assistant GM Josh Sanderson and Rock defender Bradley Kri were responsible for guiding the Jr. Rock PeeWee team to victory.