National Lacrosse League welcomes Powell Lacrosse as the first Foundational Partner of NLL UnBOXed™ Full Story

Scores / Schedule
Press ReleasesStories/Op-Ed

League To Announce Finalists For 2016 Nll Season Awards

The National Lacrosse League has released the announcement schedule of finalists for the 2016 NLL Season Awards. Three finalists for each award will be named over the course of the coming weeks. The winners will be announced at the 2016 NLL Season Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, September 27 at Toronto Rock Athletic Centre in Oakville, Ontario.

The announcement of the three finalists for each award begins on Monday, June 20 with the Sportsmanship Award and continues through Thursday, July 7 with the Executive of the Year award. The 2016 NLL Media Person of the Year (Tom Borrelli Award) winner will be announced on Monday, July 11.

Awards announcement schedule:

Monday, June 20: Sportsmanship Award finalists
Tuesday, June 21: Defensive Player of the Year award finalists
Wednesday, June 22: Goaltender of the Year award finalists
Thursday, June 23: Transition Player of the Year award finalists

Monday, June 27: Head Coach of the Year (The Les Bartley Award) award finalists 
Tuesday, June 28: General Manager of the Year award finalists
Wednesday, June 29: Rookie of the Year award finalists
Thursday, June 30: Most Valuable Player award finalists

Tuesday, July 5: Teammate of the Year award finalists
Wednesday, July 6: Air Canada Wingman of the Year award finalists
Thursday, July 7: Executive of the Year award finalists

Monday, July 11: Media Person of the Year (The Tom Borrelli Award) winner

Tuesday, September 27: 2016 NLL Season Awards Ceremony

The 2016 NLL Season Awards are determined by a vote of the league’s Board of Governors, General Managers and Head Coaches at the end of the regular season. The 2016 NLL Media Person of the Year Award is determined by a vote of the league’s covering media. More information on the 2016 NLL Season Awards Ceremony will be announced at a later date.