The NLL Looks Like the NHL, and Plays Like the NBA Read the Full Story

Scores / Schedule
Press ReleasesStories/Op-Ed

Saskatchewan Rush Makes History At 2016 Nll Draft

The National Lacrosse League has announced official results following the 2016 NLL Draft after a total of 57 players were selected during the event at Toronto Rock Athletic Centre in Oakville, Ontario on Monday night as teams now ready their rosters for training camp, preseason and the start of the 2016-17 NLL season in December.

The two-time defending NLL champion Saskatchewan Rush made history at the Draft by making Quinnipiac University’s Ryan Keenan the first overall pick, marking the first time in professional sports history that a player was drafted first overall by their father serving as general manager, as Derek Keenan fills that role for the Rush in addition to his head coaching duties.

“Thank you to the entire Saskatchewan Rush organization for giving me the opportunity to achieve this dream and be a part of such a successful team. I can’t wait to get started on this journey,” said Ryan Keenan. “I’m excited to play in front of such an amazing fan base and hopefully make the fans – and my family – proud.”

“While this is a big moment for our family, ultimately we’re excited to have Ryan — an incredibly talented forward — as part of the Rush,” said Derek Keenan, General Manager and Head Coach of the Rush. “His last season at Quinnipiac University spoke volumes to his scoring ability, and we can’t wait to see his contributions to the exciting season ahead.”


1) Saskatchewan (from Vancouver): Ryan Keenan (Quinnipiac University)
2) Toronto: Challen Rogers (Stony Brook University) 
3) Saskatchewan (from Rochester): 
Mike Messenger (Limestone College)
4) Georgia: Bryan Cole (University of Maryland)
5) Calgary: Holden Cattoni (Johns Hopkins University)
6) Rochester (from New England): Josh Currier (Virginia Wesleyan College)
7) Rochester (from Colorado): Kyle Jackson (University of Michigan)
8) New England (from Buffalo via Georgia): Seth Oakes (University of Albany)
9) Colorado (from Saskatchewan): Zach Herreweyers (Loyola University)
10) Georgia: Connor Sellars (Belmont Abbey College)


11) Vancouver: James Rahe (Robert Morris University)
12) Toronto (from Toronto via New England): Latrell Harris (St. Catherines)
13) Buffalo (from Rochester): Justin Martin (University of Guelph)
14) Saskatchewan* (from New England via Georgia): Matthew Hossack (Rochester Institute of Technology) 
15) Calgary: 
Vaughn Harris (Six Nations Chiefs)
16) Rochester* (from Buffalo via New England): Dan Lomas (High Point University) 
17) Georgia (from Colorado): 
Leo Stouros (Colgate University)
18) Buffalo: Kevin Orleman (University of Guelph)
19) New England (from Saskatchewan): Doug Jamieson (Onondoga)
20) Georgia: Warren Hill (Syracuse University)
21) Calgary: Matt Symes (Whittier College)


22) Georgia (from Vancouver): Lachlan Elder (Burlington Chiefs)
23) Toronto: Jordan Magnuson (Coquitlam Adanacs)
24) New England (from Rochester via Georgia): Joel Coyle (Orangeville Northmen)
25) Georgia: Brayden Hill (Six Nations)
26) Calgary: Brody Eastwood (Stony Brook University)
27) Calgary (from New England): Keegan Rittinger (Coquitlam Adanacs)
28) Georgia (from Colorado): Matt Kavanagh (University of Notre Dame)
29) New England (from Buffalo via Rochester): Kyle Trolley (University of Notre Dame)
30) Saskatchewan: Mason Pynn (Drexel University)
31) Buffalo: TJ Sanders (Penn State)


32) Vancouver: Adam Jay (Delta Sr A)
33) New England (from Toronto): Brandon Robinson (Brampton Excelsiors)
34) Rochester: Tyler Albrecht (Loyola University)
35) Colorado* (from Georgia): Taylor Stuart (Bellarmine University)
36) Calgary: Jake Archdekin (Calgary Mountaineers)
37) New England: Myles Jones (Duke University)
38) New England* (from Georgia via Colorado): Dan Michel (Trent University)
39) Buffalo: Bryce Brochu (Wheeling Jesuit University) 
40) Saskatchewan: 
Mike Kaminski (Saskatchewan SWAT)


41) Vancouver: Cody Teichroeb (Langley Thunder)
42) Toronto: Jackson Hullbert (Burlington Chiefs)
43) Rochester: Luke Laszkiewicz (Robert Morris University)
44) Georgia: Liam Byrnes (Marquette University)
45) Calgary: Tony Tremblay (Calgary Mountaineers)
46) Colorado: Kyle Whitlow (Marquette University)
47) Buffalo: Drake Smith (Kitchener-Waterloo)
48) Saskatchewan: Spencer Bromley (McGill University)


49) Vancouver: Danton Miller (Six Nations)
50) Toronto: Jamie McMahon (University of Waterloo)
51) Rochester: Brine Rice (Onondaga)
52) Buffalo (from Georgia): Logan Holmes (Windsor Clippers)
53) Calgary: Austin Rockwell (Calgary Mountaineers)
54) New England: Garrett Lewis (Toronto Beaches)
55) Colorado: Jamal Shears (Mimico Jr A)
56) New England (from Buffalo): Andrew Mullen (University of Virginia)
57) Saskatchewan: Rylee McKinnon (Whitby Jr A)

*New England trades the 14th selection in the 2016 draft to Saskatchewan in exchange from the 19th selection in the 2016 draft and Saskatchewan’s 2nd round pick in 2017

*Buffalo trades the 16th selection in the 2016 draft to Rochester in exhange for Brad Self

*Georgia trades the 35th selection in the 2016 draft to Colorado in exchange for the 38th pick in 2016 and Colorado’s 5th round pick in 2017

*Georgia trades the 38th selection in the 2016 draft to New England in exchange for New England’s 4th round pick in 2018