The First Round of the Postseason is Set! Full Quarterfinal Schedule

Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
EntryNewsPress Releases

Donville, Lanchbury, Nanticoke, Charalambides Taken With Top National Lacrosse League Entry Draft Selections

McCannell, Waters, Boudreau, Barnable, Shoemay, Inacio Round Out Top Ten In Virtual Event Satur-day

PHILADELPHIA, August 28, 2021Jonathan Donville (Oakville, ON / Cornell Univ.), Ryan Lanchbury (Burlington, ON / Univ. of Richmond) and Tehoka Nanticoke (Six Nations, ON / Univ. of Albany) were the first three players selected in tonight’s National Lacrosse League (@NLL) Entry Draft, held virtually. Donville was the first overall pick by the expansion Panther City Lacrosse Club; Lanchbury went next to the Georgia Swarm; and with the third selection the Buffalo Bandits grabbed Nanticoke.

The Entry Draft for the largest and most successful professional lacrosse property in the world continued through the first round as follows: (4) Vancouver, Adam Charalambides (Georgetown, ON / Rutgers Univ.); (5) San Diego, Mike McCannell (Orangeville, ON / Stony Brook Univ.); (6) Calgary, Kyle Waters (Orangeville, ON / Univ. of Detroit Mercy); (7) Saskatchewan, Jake Boudreau (Brampton, ON / Robert Morris Univ.); (8) Saskatchewan, Ryan Barnable (Whitby, ON / RIT) (9) San Diego, Patrick Shoemay (Surrey, BC / RIT); (10) Calgary, Justin Inacio (Oakville, ON / Ohio State); (11) Panther City, Nathan Grenon (Stittsville, ON / Mercyhurst Univ.); (12) Halifax, Max Wilson (Victoria, BC / NJIT); (13) San Diego, Jacob Dunbar (Port Coquitlam, BC); (14) Buffalo, Thomas Vaesen (Victoria, BC / Univ. of Montevallo); (15) Philadelphia, Hunter Lemieux (Lockport, N.Y. / Roberts Wesleyan College); and (16) Albany, Patrick Kaschalk (Windsor, ON / Stony Brook Univ.). The full draft results are available at https://www.nll.com/news/2021-nll-entry-draft-live-results/.

The first two rounds of the draft were broadcast live on TSN in Canada and via the NLL Facebook and YouTube channels. Fans can rewatch the coverage on YouTube at this link: https://youtu.be/yLk2ihmVtr0.

“The Entry Draft is an exciting moment for everyone selected tonight and an important day for our teams,” said NLL Commissioner, Nick Sakiewicz. “Congratulations to all the young players who have taken an important step tonight in fulfilling their professional lacrosse dreams.”

All 14 active NLL franchises for the 2021-22 season, scheduled to open on December 3, participated in the Entry Draft, which was also held virtually in 2020 following a two-year run at Philadelphia’s Xfinify Live! in 2018 and 2019.

For the most up to date information and breaking news, sign up for the NLL newsletter at NLL.com. Also follow Deputy Commissioner Jessica Berman and Commissioner Sakiewicz on Twitter @JessicaBerman1 and @NLLcommish, respectively.


About the National Lacrosse League

The National Lacrosse League (NLL) is North America’s premier professional lacrosse league. Founded in 1986, the NLL ranks third in average attendance for pro indoor sports worldwide, behind only the NHL and NBA. The League is comprised of 15 franchises across the United States and Canada: Albany FireWolves, Buffalo Bandits, Calgary Roughnecks, Colorado Mammoth, Georgia Swarm, Halifax Thunderbirds, Las Vegas NLL, New York Riptide, Panther City Lacrosse Club (TX), Philadelphia Wings, Rochester Knighthawks, San Diego Seals, Saskatchewan Rush, Toronto Rock, and Vancouver Warriors.

For more information, visit NLL.com and find @NLL on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. For more information visit NLL.com.